LL.M. in Comparative Law Program

2012-2013 Prospectus

UF Law Prospectus
Download the 2012-2013 Prospectus [3.9 MB PDF]

The Global Student’s Introduction to U.S. Law

UF Law is partnering with Coursera to provide students from around the world an introduction to the legal system of the United States.

Visit the Coursera page for more information or to sign up.

The LL.M. in Comparative Law Program is designed almost exclusively for persons having completed degrees in law at Universities and Law Schools outside the United States who want to enhance their understanding of the legal system of the United States of America and the English common law system from which it evolved. (The Director will determine whether or not the degree or degrees in law held by any applicant are sufficient to qualify them for entry into our program). The program also admits J.D. graduates of ABA-Accredited law schools in the U.S. Commonwealth of Puerto Rico who wish to study law in an English-dominant environment.

Unlike other law schools, Florida’s LL.M. program caters to the individual through a course of study tailored to the needs and objectives of each student, limited enrollment, and individualized counseling by the director, faculty and staff. LL.M. students select from courses and seminars offered each year.

The program builds on the University of Florida’s renowned international studies programs and decades of involvement by its law faculty in international legal issues, including trade, environmental and land use law, human rights, law revision, and constitutional reform. The law school has established programs and relationships in North, Central and South America, Asia, and Europe, with specific emphasis on Brazil, Chile, China, Costa Rica, France, Korea, Mexico, Poland, and South Africa.

Since its inception in 1994, the LL.M. in Comparative Law Program at the University of Florida Fredric G. Levin College of Law has enrolled over 200 students from 43 countries, including:

Argentina, Belarus, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cameroon, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Ecuador, England, France, Georgia, Germany, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Morocco, Netherlands Antilles, Nigeria, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Poland, Puerto Rico, Saudi Arabia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, United States, Venezuela, and Zimbabwe.