Levin College of Law

2012 Inductees

Return to Heritage of Leadership

To permanently honor outstanding and notable alumni of the University of Florida Levin College of Law and their contributions to the state and University, the Law Center Association Board of Trustees established the Heritage of Leadership Recognition Society. The Selection Committee determined the initial classes of inductees, barring exceptional circumstances, would be honored posthumously.

Class of 2012

Lucius Durham Battle (1918-2008)

Class of 1946. Served as Naval Officer during World War II in the Pacific; reorganized the State Department as top assistant to Secretaries of State Dean Acheson and Dean Rusk. Served as Ambassador to Egypt (1964 – 1967) and twice as Assistant Secretary of State; founding Chairman of the Foreign Policy Institute at the Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies (1980) and Chairman of the National Council on U.S.-Arab Relations (1995-2008).



Rebecca Bowles Hawkins (1910-2000)

Class of 1935. Became first female Assistant Attorney General in Florida in 1948 and headed office’s opinions division (1969-1976); full-time Research Assistant for Florida Supreme Court Justice B.K. Roberts; served as President of Florida (1954-1955) and National Association of Women Lawyers (1960-1961); named 1997 UF Alumnae of Outstanding Achievement.



Gerald A. Williams (1950-2010)

Class of 1975. Served as president of the UF Law Black Law Student Association and was among the first African-American graduates of UF Law; Served as Staff Attorney for the National Labor Relations Board before establishing Haygood & Williams, P.A. in West Palm Beach (1981); served as Counsel to numerous public schools in South Florida, including the Palm Beach County School Board until 2010.



Heritage of Leadership Selection Committee

  • Eugene K. Pettis, JD 85, chair, Fort Lauderdale
  • Barry Davidson, JD 67, vice chair, Miami
  • Scott G. Hawkins, JD 83, West Palm Beach
  • Kimberly L. Johnson, JD 81, Naples
  • Michael D. Minton, JD 81, LLMT 82, chair, Fort Pierce
  • Brian M. O’Connell, JD 79, LLMT 80, West Palm Beach
  • Hon. Benjamin F. Overton, JD 52, emeritus faculty, Gainesville
  • Gary Printy, JD 82, Tallahassee
  • W. Crit Smith, JD 78, Tallahassee