UF team stops Stetson Trial

Published: January 29th, 2001

Category: News

Team wins Florida Bar Competition; competes in state & national competitions

The UF  Trial Competition Team won first place at the Florida Bar Trial Team Competition in Miami. Since 1983, Stetson has won the competition 13 times, UF has won twice (1994 and 2001), and FSU has won three times. “This is a significant win because Stetson has won the competition so many times over the past 18 years,” said Professor Kenneth Nunn, Team faculty advisor. Natasha Mayneand Harley Brook were the winning pair of litigators, and Mayne also won Best Advocate honors. The team was coached by UF alumna Judge Phyliss Kotey. Other team competitors who contributed to the strong showing include Marvelle Butler, Paula Ferris, Salisu Richardson, Lisa Rosenthal, Natasha Thomas, Betty Toussaint and Monica Williams. “We personally congratulate Natasha and Harley,” said a message signed by Team members Jessie Dalton, Christine Marlewski, Lynda Sorel, Jose Izquierdo, Millicent McDaniels, Kimberly Madison, Micheal Pike and Coach Rob Rush. “Trial Team also wishes the team competing in the ABA competition on Feb. 1-3 the best of luck. We know they will do a great job and return home victorious.” By competing in intramural state, regional and national competitions organized by individuals, groups and law firms, team members earn school credit, gain experience and sharpen their legal skills. Team competes on state/national level In addition to the Florida Bar Trial Team Competition in Miami this month, the UF Trial Team also participated in the Michigan State University-Detroit College of Law National Trial Advocacy Competition in November, advancing to the semi-finals. Pending competitions include:

• Feb. 1-3. Team members Jessie Dalton, Jose Izquierdo, Kimberly Madison, Christine Marlewski, Millicent McDaniels, Micheal Pike, Lynda Sorel and coach Rob Rush compete in the American Bar Association Competition.

• March 1-4. Team members Larry Dany, Desiree Demonbreun, Jack Hill, LaShawnda Jackson, John Perry, Tony Simpson, Michelle Skinner, Annette Urenaand Coach Tom Farkashcompete in the American Trial Lawyer’s Association Competition in West Palm Beach.

• March 28-31.Team members Marcos Beaton, James McDonald, Terry Nealy, Jenny Walker and Coaches Craig DeThomasisand Micheal Buchanan(with the Gainesville law firm of DeThomasis and Buchanan), will compete in the Eleventh Annual National Criminal Justice Trial Advocacy Competition sponsored by the Criminal Justice Section of the ABA and John Marshall Law School.

Tagged as: