Davis, McDonald Named Professor, Student of the Year

Published: May 21st, 2001

Category: News

Professor of Law Jeffrey Davis and spring 2001 graduate James McDonald have been named Levin College of Law Professor and Student of the Year, respectively, by the John Marshall Bar Association. Richard Mockler, immediate past JMBA president, reports the winners were elected by vote of the law student body from among five professorial and six student nominees. Professor finalists were Davis, Theresa Rambo, David T. Smith, Mary Twitchell and Winton Williams. Davis was nominated by several students, and was noted for his “commitment to genuinely teaching students both the policy behind the law and application of the law to which no others compare.” Mockler said. “Students love him because he is simply a wonderful teacher.” Student finalists were McDonald, John Gregory, Scott Kees, Brian Koch, Samantha Schosber and Terry Nealy. “I am very pleased to have been selected Student of the Year. All of the candidates were just as deserving,” McDonald said. He was active in many organizations, including JMBA, ABA, Trial Team and the Black Law Students Association. Davis, a member of the faculty since 1981, is an expert on Bankruptcy, teaches Contract Law, and serves on the Executive Council for the Florida Bar Business Law Section and the American Bar Association Committee on Consumer Financial Services. “This means a great deal to me, and I am grateful to the students who nominated me. I love being a professor, and the students are the best part,” Davis said. Professor of the Year selection begins with students nominating professors based on scholarship and publication, teaching and commitment to the student body. Five of those nominated appeared on the JMBA general election ballot. Student of the Year selection is based on five criteria: academics, co-curricular accomplishments, extra-curricular accomplishments, extra-curricular participation, community service, and leadership. Nominations from the entire student body allow everyone the chance to participate. Each nominee was then invited to submit a resume and statement supporting their nomination.

Tagged as: