JMBA Names Professor, Student of the Year

Published: April 7th, 2003

Category: Awards, News

The John Marshall Bar Association (JMBA) gave its top awards — Professor and Student of the Year — to Lyrissa Lidsky and Nicole Kibert at its annual Barrister’s Ball March 28. JMBA asked students in mid-March to nominate professors and students for the 2002-03 awards. “We received multiple nominations for Professor of the Year, and put the seven faculty who received the most — Doug Miller, Alyson Flournoy, Lyrissa Lidsky, Sherrie Russell- Brown, Frank McCoy, Steve Powell and Amy Mashburn — on our spring election ballot,” said JMBA President Chris Hand. “Students voted March 25 and chose Professor Lidsky.” Students use a similar process to nominate their peers for Student of the Year. “Again, we received lots of nominations,” said Hand. “A committee of three students and two faculty members then evaluated nominees using five criteria: academics, community service, campus involvement, co-curricular participation and leadership.” Student of the Year finalists Jason Gordon (2L), Canaan Himmelbaum (2L), Steve Klein (3L), Paul Lutz (3L) and Nicole Kibert (3L) — who won the honor — were announced at the Barrister’s Ball. “In addition to being an outstanding student, Nicole has been a leader both on and off campus,” said Hand. “At the Levin College of Law, she serves as president of the Environmental Law Society, Spring 2003 class chair of the Alumni Council and member of both the Florida Journal of International Law and Environmental Moot Court team. She also has been very active in community service off campus and is presently coordinating a Community Law Series to help local residents better understand their rights and obligations under the law.”

Tagged as: