Faist, Spoont, and McIntyre Take Top Honors at Final Four

Published: October 16th, 2006

Category: News Briefs

Spoont, Faist and McIntyre

UF Law students Josh Spoont and Elizabeth Faist took home best team honors at the Moot Court Team’s biannual Final Four on Friday, Oct. 6. Spoont was also named best oralist in the competition, and took the prize for best brief. Jesse McIntyre was named best overall competitor.

The competitors presented oral arguments in front of justices from the Florida Supreme Court, including Justices Harry Lee Anstead, Charles T. Wells, Barbara J. Pariente, and Peggy A. Quince, as well as retired Chief Justice Ben F. Overton, an adjunct UF law professor.

The Fall Final Four is sponsored by the Orlando law firm of Zimmerman, Kiser & Sutcliffe, and is the culmination of a five-week try-out competition, which requires interested students to write an appellate brief and then present two oral arguments before a panel of judges.

The Justice Campbell Thornal Moot Court Team competes each year at over a dozen tournaments throughout the country. The team was founded in 1961, and was named after the prominent Florida Supreme Court Chief Justice. The team’s mission is to promote excellence in appellate advocacy.