UF Moot Court Team Takes Regional Honors, Advances in National Competition

Published: October 30th, 2006

Category: Awards, Events, Feature, News, Students

UF Moot Court Team Oct. 2006

UF Moot Court Team members at the Oct. 21 regional competition

The Levin College of Law’s Justice Campbell Thornal Moot Court Team turned in an impressive performance Oct. 21 at the regional competition for The Thomas Tang National Moot Court Competition held at American University’s Washington College of Law in Washington, D.C.

Team members Beau Baker, Brad Barrios, Gina Civin, Vanessa Grant, Elizabeth Paulk, and Veronica Tafur, went head to head with moot court teams throughout the southeast at the competition. UF Moot Court members argued a case involving the REAL ID Act of 2005 and the Convention Against Torture. Grant and Tafur, coached by Paul Sodhi and Chris Dix, were named the overall winner of the competition. Barrios and Civin, coached by Nava Ben-Avraham and Natalia Medina, received second place overall and Best Brief. Baker and Paulk, coached by Kimberly Chamberlin and Alissa Lugo, received sixth place overall.

Barrios, Civin, Grant, and Tafur will represent the UF Moot Court Team and the Southeast Region at The Thomas Tang National Moot Court Competition, which takes place Nov. 9-12 in conjunction with the National Asian Pacific American Bar Association Annual Convention in Philadelphia.

The UF Moot Court would like to thank Professors Joseph Little, Michael Siebecker, Leanne Pflaum, Mary Adkins, David Hudson, Pedro Malavet, Juan Perea, Patricia Thomson, and Henry Wihnyk, who volunteered their time to ensure the success at the competition.

The Thomas Tang National Moot Court Competition honors the late Judge Thomas Tang, a
champion of individual rights, an advocate for the advancement of minority attorneys, and an ardent supporter of the National Asian Pacific American Bar Association. Teams from throughout the country participate in the competition, with winners and runners-up from the six regional competitions meeting in the finals.