Kailey Evans and Nicole Mouakar Take Best Team Honors at UF Trial Team Final Four Competition

Published: October 15th, 2007

Category: News

Mock TrialNicole Mouakar and Kailey Evans were named Best Team in the University of Florida Trial Team’s bi-annual Final Four Competition Oct. 5. This year’s case was the State of Lone Star v. Tony Grubb. The defendant in the case was charged with the burglary of an elderly woman’s home. Mouakar and Evans were named Best Team as they represented the defendant Tony Grubb. Evans (pictured above) was also named Best Advocate. Other members of the team included Maulik Sharma and Kerri McGovern as witnesses and researchers. The team was coached by Molly Cox and Jim Clements. Elvis Santiago and Jason Pill represented the State of Lone Star. Elizabeth Manno and Connie Jones served as witnesses and researchers for the competition. The team was coached by Roger Hatfield and Lori Lustrin. This semester’s competition was sponsored by Rumberger, Kirk & Caldwell, a litigation firm with offices in Florida and Alabama. Rumberger’s Dan Gerber, Steve Klein, Sara Burton and LaShawnda Jackson acted as a jury for this semester’s Final Four. The Honorable Judge William Davis presided over the competition.