Distinguished alumni to be honored at graduation

Published: March 17th, 2008

Category: News

Distinguished alumniGraduation will be Friday, May 15, at 2 p.m. in the O’Connell Center. Four UF Distinguished Alumnus awards will be presented at commencement: Judge Rosemary Barkett (JD 70), our alumnus on the 11th Circuit and the first woman to serve on the Florida Supreme Court; Dexter Douglass, (JD 55), who has had a distinguished career in Tallahassee and whose service includes chairing the 1997-98 Constitution Revision Commission; Justice-emeritus Ben Overton (LLB 52) of the Florida Supreme Court, a member of our adjunct faculty; and George Starke, Jr., who matriculated at the college in 1958 as the first student of color at the University of Florida. Dexter Douglass (LLB 55) will be our Commencement speaker, and Professor Mike Seigel has been selected by the students to give the faculty exhortation. Eric Gold, who passed away in January 2008, would have graduated with this class. His parents will be present to receive a posthumous UF Honorary Alumnus designation for Eric.