Florida Moot Court Team hosts final four competition Friday

Published: August 27th, 2012

Category: News

Moot Court

From left, Megan Coughlin, Cullen Boggus, Nathan Diehl, Ian Dankelman and Blake Neumann, will compete this Friday in the 27th annual Zimmerman Kiser Sutcliffe Final Four competition. (Photo by Maggie Powers)

On Friday, the Florida Moot Court Team will showcase its new members in the 27th annual Zimmerman Kiser Sutcliffe Final Four Competition at 10 a.m. in the Martin H. Levin Advocacy Center.

The top four competitors from this year’s tryout competition will demonstrate their oral advocacy techniques before a panel of judges including Judge Stephanie W. Ray of the Florida First District Court of Appeal, Judge T. Kent Wetherell, II also of the Florida First District Court of Appeal, and Senior Federal Judge Stephan P. Mickle of the Northern District of Florida. Blake Neumann and Ian Dankelman will represent the petitioner, the United States Government; Megan Coughlin and Cullen Boggus will represent the respondent, Jack Fritz; and Nathan Diehl has been selected as an alternate for the competition.

This year’s competition issue delves into the pressing concerns of cellphone privacy under the Fourth Amendment and a minor’s right to counsel under the Fifth Amendment. These current, polarizing social issues will spur compelling arguments and zealous advocacy. Given that seating will be limited in the Advocacy Center, the arguments will be displayed simultaneously via video in HOL180 and will also be broadcast online at http://mediasite.video.ufl.edu/Mediasite/Play/cf497b23132d471096761dc5c34c2c871d.

Congratulations to new members who will be on hand to support the final four: Chelsey Clements, Jessica Clements, John Curry, Dick Eagles, Arielle Eisenberg, Alfredo Ferrer, Victoria Forson, Kristina Gandre, Stephanie Generotti, Matthew Goodwin, Heather Griffin, Alex Kruzyk, Kate Livanec, Matthew Moats, Joey Posey, DeeDee Scheller, Jennifer Smith, Robert Sowell, Kevin Stone, and Danielle Tamir.

In addition to the intramural competition, the Florida Moot Court team sent two teams to compete in competitions across the state this summer: Danielle Grundt, Ryan Hopper, and Dylan Shea represented the team in at The Florida Bar Competition in June. Will Anderson, Ryan Gilbert and Tyler Hudson represented the team at the Earle Zehmer Worker’s Compensation Competition in August.  Both teams performed strongly and Ryan Hopper won Best Oralist at the Florida Bar Competition. The team looks forward to an active competition schedule this fall.

Robert O’Linn (3L)
Special to FlaLaw