UF Law continues to lead Florida Blue Key

Published: April 15th, 2013

Category: Feature


Newly selected members of Florida Blue Key stand in the Advocacy Center courtroom with current Blue Key President Dana Somerstein, third from right. From left are Ryan Gilbert (3L), Dane Ullian (2L), Allie Menegakis (3L), Somerstein, J. Wes Stephens (3L) and Brock Hankins (2L), the incoming Florida Blue Key president. (Photo by Haley Stracher)

By Jenna Box
Student writer

University of Florida Levin College of Law students continue to lead the Florida Blue Key.

The fall president-elect is Brock Hankins (2L), who succeeds current FBK President Dana Somerstein (3L).

On April 7, five UF Law students were tapped as members into the prestigious organization, and Hankins was tapped as president-elect of FBK effective fall 2013. On April 27, they will be officially inducted along with Honorary Tapping Class 2013 members Rachel Inman, UF Law associate dean for student affairs, Glenn J. Waldman (JD 83) and Gwynne Young (JD 74).

UF Law’s 2013 spring FBK inductees are: Chelsey Clements (2L), Ryan Gilbert (3L), Allie Menegakis (3L), J. Wes Stephens (3L) and Dane Ullian (2L).

FBK was founded in 1923 at the University of Florida with the mission to unite leaders across campus and generations. Membership offers the chance to serve the community and the university while also providing personal enhancement and growth. The network of FBK includes many UF Law alumni who have gone on to become great leaders, such as Stephen C. O’Connell (JD 40), a Florida Supreme Court justice and president of the University of Florida, and Stephen N. Zack (JD 71), president of the American Bar Association from 2010 to 2011.

“I am honored to induct these wonderful leaders into the Florida Blue Key organization,” Somerstein said. “They are all incredibly hard workers and great representatives of the law school community. I cannot wait to see how they will represent Florida Blue Key as they continue their involvement and servant leadership in the future.”