UF Law students receive accolades

Published: August 26th, 2013

Category: News

HarrisUniversity of Florida Levin College of Law students were recognized late spring for significant accomplishments they have achieved while at UF Law.

Six UF Law students were inducted into the UF Hall of Fame – the highest recognition given to student leaders at UF – and UF Law third-year student Amanda Harris, who graduated in May, was nominated to receive a 2013 Burton Distinguished Legal Writing Award.

“I feel very blessed and humbled to receive the award,” Harris said. “It’s a pleasant surprise to have such exciting news at the end of my law school career, and I’m so excited to represent UF and see where my future leads.”

The Burton Awards were established to acknowledge and reward effective legal writing, from “publications to the greatest legal reforms in law,” according to the Burton Awards website.

Harris’ article, “Surpassing Sentencing: The Controversial Next Step in Confrontation Clause Jurisprudence,” published in the Florida Law Review, addresses the issue of the right to confrontation and whether it applies during capital and noncapital sentencing.

Harris graduated in the top five percent of her class and clerks for Chief Justice Karen K. Caldwell in the Eastern District of Kentucky in Lexington. She received the award at the Burton Awards ceremony in June in Washington, D.C.

The UF Law students who were inducted into the University of Florida Hall of Fame are:

Laura Beard

Mitchell Cooper

Ashley Dunnigan

Brock Hankins

Wesley Maul

Dana Somerstein

Award recipients were honored in April by President Bernie Machen and Vice President for Student Affairs Dave Kratzer at a ceremony in front of family and friends.

This year, 123 University of Florida students applied for the award and 27 were selected. A committee composed of faculty, staff and two former award recipients reviewed the applications.

Since 1921, UF Hall of Fame recognizes seniors and graduate students who have consistently demonstrated an outstanding commitment to improving the University of Florida through campus and community involvement, participation in organized campus activities, and scholastic achievement.

The Division of Student Affairs coordinates the award. Applications are available at the beginning of February every year.

Past award winners include George Smathers (1937), Stephen C. O’Connell (1938), Ralph Turlington (1942), Marshall Criser (1950), Steve Spurrier (1967), Susan Jacobs (1971), Danny Ponce (1973), Maruchi Azorin (1976), Dean Cannon (1990) and Jason Rosenberg (1990).

For more information and a complete list of past award winners, please visit http://www.ufsa.ufl.edu/students/honors_awards_scholarships/hall_of_fame/.