Florida Supreme Court justices to sit for moot court competition

Published: January 27th, 2014

Category: News


From left, Justice Jorge Labarga (JD 79), Justice Barbara J. Pariente, Justice Peggy A. Quince, Chief Justice Ricky Polston, Justice Charles T. Canady, Justice R. Fred Lewis and Justice James E.C. Perry. (Photo by FloridaSupremeCourt.org)

By Matthew Goodwin
Special to Flalaw

All the justices of the Florida Supreme Court will once again visit the University of Florida Levin College of Law to hear oral arguments in the 30th annual Maguire Appellate Advocacy Competition on Thursday, Feb. 13, at 10 a.m. in the Martin H. Levin Advocacy Center courtroom. The event is free and open to the public.

The competition will feature two teams of skilled advocates from the Florida Moot Court Team, who will later compete in the American Bar Association competition.

Cullen Boggus (3L), Jennifer Fine (2L), and Robert Sowell (3L) will represent the petitioner. Jessica Clements Andrade (3L), Andrew Oppenheim (2L), and DeeDee Scheller (3L) will represent the respondent.

The competitors will present legal arguments based on the following questions:

  1. Does an employer have an action under the Computer Fraud Abuse Act when an intern downloads information from a database to which the intern was given a password but does so in a way that violates written company policies?
  2. When is a law-student intern at a for-profit law firm an “employee” within the meaning of the Fair Labor Standards Act’s wage and hour provisions?

The competitors will argue this case in the regional round Feb. 27-29, in Las Vegas. If they win the regional round they will advance to the national competition.

The Florida Moot Court Team competes each year at over a dozen tournaments throughout the country. The team has been a fixture at UF Law since 1909 when the college was founded, but was organized into its current form in 1961.

At that time, the Maguire Appellate Advocacy Competition was sponsored by the Orlando law firm of Maguire, Voorhis & Wells, P.A. The competition is named after Raymer F. Maguire, Jr., (JD 48), son of the founder of Maguire, Voorhis & Wells, P.A. and managing partner of the firm. In the summer of 1998, Maguire, Voorhis & Wells, P.A. merged with the law firm of Holland & Knight LLP, who also became a proud sponsor of the competition.

For additional information, contact Matthew Goodwin, Florida Moot Court Team public relations chair at pr@ufmootcourt.org.