Levin College of Law

ABA President, UF Law grad Stephen N. Zack to give Criser Distinguished Lecture Oct. 8

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – American Bar Association (ABA) President and University of Florida Levin College of Law graduate Stephen N. Zack will present at the Marshall M. Criser Distinguished Lecture Series at the UF law school. Zack’s presentation “How Will the Next Generation of Lawyers be Remembered?” will be held in the Chesterfield Smith Ceremonial Classroom, Holland Hall room 180, on Friday at 2 p.m.

Zack is the fifth UF Law graduate and first Hispanic-American to serve as president of the ABA. As president of the 400,000 member-plus organization, Zack works toward gaining equal access to justice for all segments of society, sufficient funding of the judiciary, the growing use of technology in the legal world and the importance of a proper civic education for young students.

“We are pleased to welcome Stephen Zack for our next Criser Lecture,” said UF Law Dean Robert Jerry. “Zack has been a tireless advocate for the rule of law, and he is devoted to the judiciary and its role in guaranteeing the constitutional rights of every citizen.”

In addition to the long list of professional leadership roles he has held in the ABA, The Florida Bar, his local bar association and in his community, Zack is also a founding member of the Cuban-American Bar Association and was the first Hispanic-American – and youngest – president of The Florida Bar.

The Criser Lecture will conclude with the unveiling of Zack’s portrait on the wall along with the four other UF Law alumni who have served as ABA presidents.

Zack, who moved to Cuba from Detroit with his parents at two months old, came back to the United States at the age of 14 and went to high school in Miami. After graduating from UF Law, he returned to Miami and was a co-founder of the Cuban-American Bar Association. Zack’s other accomplishments include being a member of the team of attorneys who represented Al Gore in 2001’s Bush v. Gore and serving on the Florida Constitution Revision Commission. He is also an emeritus member of the UF Law Center Association Board of Trustees.

The Marshall M. Criser Distinguished Lecture Series was created in early 2007 by Lewis Schott (B.A. 1943, LL.B. 1946) of Palm Beach, Fla., as a tribute to his fellow UF Law alumnus, former UF President Marshall Criser (JD 51). The goal of the speaker series is to host prestigious national and international speakers every year on topics of particular interest to law students. Previous speakers include Supreme Court Justices Clarence Thomas and John Paul Stevens.

Tagged as: , , ,

Published: October 5th, 2010

Category: News

Comments are closed.