Levin College of Law

Professor Brauner Named to Hugh Culverhouse Eminent Scholar Chair in Taxation

Dean Laura Rosenbury has announced that Yariv Brauner has been appointed to the Hugh Culverhouse Eminent Scholar Chair in Taxation at the University of Florida Levin College of Law.

Professor Brauner has been a member of the UF Law faculty, teaching in the Graduate Tax Program, since 2006. Prior to joining UF, he taught at the Arizona State University College of Law, Northwestern University School of Law, and New York University School of Law, from which he received both an LL.M. in International Taxation and an S.J.D. degree.

A prolific scholar focusing principally on international taxation, Professor Brauner is the author of more than 60 books and articles and has presented papers at over a hundred conferences and law schools around the world.

Professor Brauner has been a Professor in Residence at the IBFD in Amsterdam; held the PWC Visiting Chair at the Vienna University of Economics and Business; served as a visiting professor at the University of Lausanne, Universität Münster, La Universidad de Navarra, University of Zurich, University of Sao Paulo, Bar Ilan University, University of Cape Town, Universiteit Leiden, and the University of Luxembourg; and was a visiting professor and Senior Fellow at the University of Melbourne.

“Professor Brauner is one of the world’s most influential international tax scholars. He also regularly supervises international tax students’ S.J.D. theses and enriches our curriculum by teaching international tax and business tax courses in both our Graduate Tax Program and our J.D. program,” said Dean Rosenbury. “He is most deserving of this honor.”

Professor Brauner, who has been a mainstay of UF Law’s International Tax Program for over a decade, will be joined in the coming academic year by newly named Professors of Tax Practice Mindy Herzfeld and Fred Murray, providing an outstanding full-time faculty for the program. Professor Brauner will be the second professor to assume the Hugh Culverhouse Eminent Scholar Chair in Taxation. Professor Lawrence Lokken, who has been an Emeritus Professor since 2010 but has continued to teach in the program, was awarded the first chair in 1994.

Published: March 23rd, 2017

Category: Faculty News, News

Comments are closed.