Levin College of Law

UF Law to welcome Florida Supreme Court Justices for moot court competition

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – The University of Florida Levin College of Law will welcome all seven current Florida Supreme Court justices for the 27th annual Maguire Appellate Advocacy Competition this Friday at 10 a.m. in the Martin H. Levin Advocacy Center courtroom.

“It is not very often that we are presented with an opportunity like this and we are truly honored the court was willing and able to join us for this event,” said C. Andrew Roy (3L), president of the Florida Moot Court Team. “From the highly distinguished panel to the incredible talent of our competitors, this Maguire Competition will certainly be one for the ages.”

The Maguire competition provides the Florida Moot Court Team with valuable practice and the Florida Supreme Court justices will offer helpful critiques regarding their oral arguments before the members go on to compete in the upcoming American Bar Association National Appellate Advocacy Competition. This year’s competitors are Leah Edelman (3L), Wilbert Vancol (3L), David Evans (3L) and Monica Haddad (2L). The competitors are supported by alternates Mary Katherine Tinsley (3L) and David Hughes (3L).

One of the foremost national moot court teams, the Florida Moot Court Team competes each year at over a dozen tournaments throughout the country. The team has been a fixture at UF Law since 1909 when the college was founded, but was organized into its current form in 1961.

At that time, the Maguire Appellate Advocacy Competition was sponsored by the Orlando law firm of Maguire, Voorhis & Wells, P.A. The competition is named after Raymer F. Maguire, Jr., son of the founder of Maguire, Voorhis & Wells, P.A., managing partner of the firm, and UF Law alumnus. In the summer of 1998, Maguire, Voorhis & Wells, P.A. merged with the law firm of Holland & Knight LLP, who also became a proud sponsor of the competition.

The Maguire Appellate Advocacy Competition is free and open to the public.

Contact: C. Andrew Roy, President, Florida Moot Court Team
407-718-0434, aroy.law@gmail.com

Tagged as: , , ,

Published: February 22nd, 2011

Category: News

Comments are closed.