Levin College of Law

UF Trial Team wins Florida Bar Competition

GAINESVILLE, Fla. — The University of Florida Levin College of Law Trial Team won first place – which amounts to the state championship – at the highly-competitive Florida Bar Chester Bedell Memorial Mock Trial Competition Jan. 20-21 in Orlando. This marks the sixth time UF Law has won the prestigious competition.

Members of the winning team include Dana DiSano (awarded Best Advocate), Dan Hogan, Kevin Sharbaugh and Melissa Welch. Also competing from the team were Wayne Atkinson, Allison Kirkwood, Jamie Stephens and Kara Wick. Others integral to the team’s success were James Baley, Rhett Parker, Tania Alavi and Nick Zissimopulos.

“This truly was a team effort,” DiSano said. “Since late October, we spent nearly every free moment preparing for this competition. Throughout the process, everyone on the team was focused, determined and selfless. We all appreciate the dedication of our two coaches, Nick Zissimopulos and Tania Alavi, who spent countless hours helping us improve our advocacy skills in the months leading up to this competition.”


High resolution photo of the team

Tagged as:

Published: February 1st, 2010

Category: News

Comments are closed.