Law Center Association Board of Trustees Spring 2015 Meeting Minutes April 11, 2015 FINAL

Present: Debbie Amirin (staff), Carter Andersen, Mike Bedke, Rob Birrenkott (staff), Jeff Boone, Jack Bovay, David Bowers, Bill Boyles, Carol Brewer, Dennis Calfee (staff), Yolanda Cash Jackson, Marti Cochran, Richie Comiter, Barry Davidson, George Dawson (staff), Lauren Detzel, Edward Downey, Ladd Fassett, Andy Fawbush, Jeff Feldman, Betsy Gallagher, Jonathan Gerber, Jack Hackett, Scott Hawkins, Ben Hill, Charlene Honeywell, Marcia Howard, Gary Huston, Tom Julin, Larry Keefe, Nelly Khouzam, Fred Leonhardt, Paul Linder, Warren Lindsey, Rick Miller (staff), Michael Minton, Wil Murphy, Lou Nostro, Bill Perry, Missy Poole (staff), Gary Printy, Robie Robinson, Oscar Sanchez, Bill Schifino, Jeff Scroggin, Crit Smith, Deb Staats (staff), Jo Thacker, Jim Theriac, Greg Weiss, Guy Whitesman, Pete Zinober.

Chair Michael Minton called the meeting to order at 9:15 a.m.

Minton asked if anyone had changes to the minutes of the last meeting and if not, requested that a motion be made to approve the minutes from the last meeting held January 30, 2015. At that time a motion was made to approve the minutes, which motion was seconded and approved.

Committee Reports

By-Law Committee: Jo Thacker presented several proposed by-law changes that had been previously emailed to the board.

Thacker made a motion to approve the by-law changes which were seconded and approved.

Heritage of Leadership Committee: Crit Smith presented the committee's proposal to induct Governor Reubin O. Askew, Senator Roberta F. Fox, and Mr. S. Austin Peele in the fall of 2015.

Hawkins moved that the nominees be approved which motion was seconded, and the nominees were unanimously approved.

Nominating Committee – Ladd Fassett presented the committee's new member slate to join the board in the Fall.

A motion was made and seconded, and the nominees were unanimously approved.

The slate of new members is as follows: Prof. Dennis A. Calfee, LLMT 75, Gainesville, FL; Ms. Nicole C. Kibert, JD 03, Atlanta, GA; Mr. Ian R. Leavengood, JD 00, St. Petersburg, FL; Mr. Richard C. Smith, JD 87, Washington, D.C.; Mr. Hans G. Tanzler, JD 76/LLMT 77, Jacksonville, FL; Mr. Donald R. Tescher, JD 69, Boca Raton, FL.

Fassett presented the committee's officer slate to take effect at the conclusion of the Fall meeting.

New officers: Mr. Oscar A. Sanchez, Chair; Mr. Scott G. Hawkins, Vice-Chair; Prof. Dennis A. Calfee, Treasurer; Mr. Richie B. Comiter, Assistant Treasurer; Mrs. Jo Thacker, Secretary; Mr. David E. Bowers, Assistant Secretary.

A motion was made and seconded, and the slate of officers was unanimously approved.

Stewardship Committee – Jack Hackett presented the 2015 S. Austin Peele Distinguished Trustee Award to Marti Cochran.

Chair Minton thanked Trustees - Yolanda Cash Jackson, Hap Shashy (absent), and Judge Paul Huck (absent) for their service on the board and presented them with University of Florida umbrellas in honor of their new emeritus status.

Meeting adjourned at 10:47 a.m.