University of Florida Levin College of Law Law Center Association, Inc. Gainesville, FL Friday, May 18, 2018

MEETING MINUTES

Attendees: Carter Andersen, Jeff Boone, David Bowers, Rebecca Brock, Dennis Calfee, James

Cunningham, Betsy Gallagher, Cheryl Gordon, Courtney Grimm, Lee Gunn, Scott Hawkins, Marcia Howard, Gary Huston, Nelly Khouzam, Elizabeth Krentzman, Ian Leavengood, Bill McCollum, Michael Minton, Jorge Perez, Bill Perry, Gary Printy, Oscar

Sanchez, Jo Thacker

Attendees

By Phone: Brian Burgoon, Cristin Keane, Richard Smith, Gregg Weiss

Faculty

Present: Fred Murray, Dean Laura Rosenbury

Staff

Present: Rob Birrenkott, Mike Farley, Debbie Menoher, Callie Wilkes

1:35 p.m. LCA Chair Scott Hawkins called the meeting to order. Chairman Hawkins commended

the decision to hold the Spring LCA meeting on the same day as the College of Law's Commencement Ceremony and complimented the previous evening's Past, Present and Future Awards Ceremony and Graduation Reception. Two Heritage of Leadership inductees were publicly recognized at Past, Present and Future on May 17, 2018: Charles Fulton (JD 35) and Mandell Glicksberg (JD 51). The February 2018 meeting minutes were moved, seconded and approved. Chairman Hawkins introduced Levin College of Law Dean Laura Rosenbury to provide a State of the Law School address.

1:40 p.m. Dean Rosenbury discussed the U.S. News & World Report ranking process as well as

factors related to UF Law's position at #41 for the second year. Dean Rosenbury described a robust strategy to become a Top 10 public law school in the near future. She thanked those in the room for their efforts to support the employment of recent graduates. Dean Rosenbury addressed the unusual bar passage rate for UF's February 2018 bar takers and described new strategies for improving the support provided to students during their bar preparation. Chairman Hawkins thanked the Dean for her

candor in addressing the issue and her leadership of the school.

2:22 p.m. FATAC Chair Michael Minton presented the FATAC Charter Amendment Report

(distributed previously) and described the primary missions of FATAC as strategic planning and advisory. The motion to approve the proposed charter amendments was moved, seconded and approved. The motion to approve new members to FATAC was moved, seconded and approved. FATAC will finalize a succession plan in order to make a report for the Fall 2018 meeting. David Bowers will assume the Chairmanship of FATAC beginning in July 2018. Chairman Minton shared that a scholarship in Sam

Ullman's memory will be established and members can see Professor Calfee for pledge forms. Professor Fred Murray thanked Chairman Minton for his outstanding service.

2:33 p.m.

Carter Andersen presented the report of the LCA Bylaw Revision Task Force (distributed previously) and thanked Brian Burgoon, Oscar Sanchez, and Jo Thacker for their assistance with the process. Andersen shared that the GG&A consultant's report recommended significant changes to the LCA committee structure, which resulted in the recommendation to reduce the number of committees from 19 to 7. Officer terms would be changed from two years each to one year each. A Chair-Elect role would be added. The motion to approve the bylaw revisions as presented was moved, seconded and approved. Chairman Hawkins thanked the Task Force and commented that more people should have an opportunity to serve the organization through these new bylaws.

2:42 p.m.

Immediate Past LCA Chair Oscar Sanchez shared the Nominating Committee's report. He presented the biographies of ten new member nominees. They include: Derek Bruce, Judge Fabienne Fahnestock, Dori Foster-Morales, Stephanie Marchman, Tracy Nichols, Judge Morris Silberman, Bob Thornburg, Scott Westheimer, Tad Yates, and Liz McCauslind. The motion to accept the nominees for LCA membership was moved, seconded and approved.

2:45 p.m.

Senior Director of Development & Alumni Affairs Mike Farley announced the schedule of UF Law events at The Florida Bar Annual Convention in June 2018, including a UF Law-sponsored CLE program as well as the annual alumni reception. Farley reported that the goal for the Culverhouse/ Hosseini Matching Scholarship Challenge is \$2,000,000 from 2,000 donors by June 30. To date, approximately \$650,000 has been raised from 675 donors. Farley shared that gifts to LLM Tax scholarship funds will be counted this year. There was discussion about how LCA members can help encourage alumni giving. Assistant Director for Development Callie Wilkes shared that donations to the Law Firm Giving Challenge will count toward the goal. There was discussion about the need for additional endowed scholarship funds to create stability for future scholarship needs. Farley committed to send more detailed information about the Challenge to members following the meeting. Farley also announced that the 2018 Summer Tour will take place between the first week of June and the first week of August and include stops throughout Florida as well as Chicago, Washington, New York City, and Atlanta.

3:21 p.m. Other Business:

Chairman Hawkins thanked Gary Printy for his role leading the Heritage of Leadership recognition program. Oscar Sanchez nominated James Cunningham as LCA Vice Chair based on the new bylaws structure. The motion to approve Cunningham as LCA Vice Chair was moved, seconded and approved. The motion to formally nominate Jo Thacker to LCA Chair-Elect was moved, seconded and approved. Chairman Hawkins announced that the Fall 2018 LCA Meeting would take place on Saturday, October 6, to coincide with the Florida vs Kentucky home football game.

3:24 p.m. Meeting adjourned.