

Fredric G. Levin College of Law Office of the Dean

Spessard L. Holland Law Center PO Box 117620 Gainesville, FL 32611-7620 352-273-0600 www.law.ufl.edu

November 15, 2018

MEMORANDUM

TO:

Voting Faculty

FROM:

Laura A. Rosenbury, Dean XXX

RE:

Faculty Meeting Agenda, November 22, 2019

I have scheduled a Faculty Meeting for Friday, November 22, 2019, in the Faculty Lounge, beginning at noon. The agenda will be as follows:

- 1. Approve Faculty Meeting Minutes for November 15, 2019, attached
- 2. Information Item: Discussion Regarding Legal Research Tools
- 3. Recommendations for Faculty Hiring from Appointments Committee (Danny Sokol and Michael Wolf, co-chairs), attached

Law Faculty Meeting Minutes November 15, 2019, 12:00 p.m.

PRESENT: Mary Adkins, Mary Jane Angelo, Sarah Bishop, Stephanie Bornstein, Yariv Brauner, Jonathan Cohen, Jeffrey Davis, Robin Davis, Nancy Dowd (phone), Seth Endo, Ben Fernandez, Jeffrey Grater, William Hamilton, Jeffrey Harrison, David Hasen (phone), Berta Esperanza Hernandez-Truyol, Darren Hutchinson, Maryam Jamshidi, E. Lea Johnston, Shani King, Elizabeth Lear, Charlene Luke, Pedro Malavet, Merritt McAlister, Silvia Menendez, Jon Mills, Jason Nance, Lars Noah, Kenneth Nunn, Jane O'Connell, William Page, Laura Rosenbury, Elizabeth Rowe, Betsy Ruff, Katheryn Russell-Brown, Stacey Steinberg, Margaret Temple-Smith, Henry Wihnyk, Danaya Wright, Jennifer Zedalis

NOT PRESENT: Thomas Ankersen, Neil Buchanan, Karen Burke, Dennis Calfee, Charles Collier, Deborah Cupples, Teresa Drake, Mark Fenster, Alyson Craig Flournoy, Andrew Hammond, Joseph Jackson, Michelle Jacobs, Joan Stearns Johnsen, Christine Klein, Leslie Knight, Amy Mashburn, Grayson McCouch, Peter Molk, Leanne Pflaum, Teresa Reid, Robert Rhee, D. Daniel Sokol, Amy Stein, John Stinneford, Lee-ford Tritt, Steven Willis, Andrew Winden, Michael Wolf, Sarah Wolking, Wentong Zheng

Meeting called to order at 12:04 pm

1. Approve Faculty Meeting Minutes for October 25, 2019

Faculty considered minutes from October 25, 2019 meeting.

Unanimously approved

1. Information Item: Discussion Regarding Legal Research Tools

Associate Dean O'Connell provided information about Securities Mosaic and citation tools.

Information Item Only

2. Information Item: Update from Appointments Committee (Danny Sokol and Michael Wolf, cochairs)

The Appointments Committee advised the faculty that all available Information Item Only materials for candidates presented at next week's faculty meeting are on Canvas. Dean Rosenbury thanked the Appointments Committee for their service.

3. Recommendations for faculty hiring from Non-Tenure Track Appointments, Retention, and Promotions Committee (Silvia Menendez, Chair), attached

The Non-Tenure Track Appointments, Retention, and Promotions Committee presented two candidates for two separate Legal Skills Faculty positions: Judy Clausen and Sabrina Little.

Discussion ensued about hiring needs and candidate qualifications.

Voting took place by secret ballot at the close of the meeting.

Meeting adjourned at 12:24 pm.

MEMORANDUM

TO: Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty

FROM: D. Daniel Sokol and Michael A. Wolf, Co-Chairs, Faculty Appointments Committee (Mary Jane Angelo, David Hasen, Shani King, Amy Stein, Daniel Sokol, Michael Wolf)

DATE: November 15, 2019

RE: Action item: Hiring recommendation for tenure-track positions

The appointments committee unanimously recommends that the faculty approve the extension of an offer of appointment to a tenure-track position to the following persons:

Tinu Adediran

Annie Brett

Jon Choi

Asad Rahim

Andrea Wang

Eleanor Wilking