

Fredric G. Levin College of Law Office of the Dean

Spessard L. Holland Law Center PO Box 117620 Gainesville, FL 32611-7620 352-273-0600 www.law.ufl.edu

February 28, 2020

MEMORANDUM

TO:

Voting Faculty

FROM:

Laura A. Rosenbury, Dean

RE:

Faculty Meeting Agenda, Tuesday, March 10, 2020

I have scheduled a Faculty Meeting for Tuesday, March 10, 2020, in the Faculty Lounge, beginning at noon. Lunch will be served. The agenda will be as follows:

- 1. Approve Faculty Meeting Minutes for February 21, 2020, attached
- 2. Update on Discussions Regarding Coronavirus
- 3. Recommendation for Faculty Hiring from Appointments Committee (Danny Sokol and Michael Wolf, co-chairs)

Please arrive early to obtain your lunch. The meeting will start promptly at noon. If the discussion regarding appointments is not completed by 12:50 p.m., we will continue the meeting on Wednesday, March 11, 2020 at noon in the faculty lounge. The faculty meeting on Friday, March 13, 2020 is canceled.

Law Faculty Meeting Minutes

February 21, 2020 12:00 p.m.

PRESENT:

Mary Adkins, Sarah Bishop, Stephanie Bornstein, Yariv Brauner, Neil Buchanan, Karen Burke, Dennis Calfee, Judy Clausen, Jonathan Cohen, Robin Davis, Nancy Dowd, Teresa Drake, Seth Endo, Mark Fenster, Ben Fernandez, William Hamilton, David Hasen, Berta Esperanza Hernandez-Truyol, Joseph Jackson, Michelle Jacobs, Maryam Jamshidi, Joan Stearns Johnsen, E. Lea Johnston, Shani King, Christine Klein, Sabrina Little, Charlene Luke, Pedro Malavet, Amy Mashburn, Merritt McAlister, Grayson McCouch, Silvia Menendez, Jon Mills, Peter Molk, Jason Nance, Jane O'Connell, William Page, Laura Rosenbury, Betsy Ruff, D. Daniel Sokol, Amy Stein, Stacey Steinberg, Henry Wihnyk, Andrew Winden, Sarah Wolking, Danaya Wright, Jennifer Zedalis

ALSO PRESENT:

Giannia Arney, Gail Mathapo, Lisa Edgar, Christopher Vallandingham, Patricia Morgan, Anastacia Greene, Elizabeth Hilkin, Sabrina Little, Rachel Inman

NOT PRESENT:

Mary Jane Angelo, Thomas Ankersen, Charles Collier, Deborah Cupples, Jeffrey Davis, Alyson Craig Flournoy, Jeffrey Grater, Andrew Hammond, Jeffrey Harrison, Mindy Herzfeld, Darren Hutchinson, Leslie Knight, Elizabeth Lear, Lars Noah, Kenneth Nunn, Leanne Pflaum, Teresa Reid, Robert Rhee, Elizabeth Rowe, Katheryn Russell-Brown, John Stinneford, Margaret Temple-Smith, Lee-ford Tritt, Steven Willis, Michael Wolf, Wentong Zheng

Meeting called to order at 12:06 p.m.

1. Approve Faculty Meeting Minutes for January 31, 2020

Faculty considered minutes from January 31, 2020 meeting. *Minutes approved*

2. Information Item: Discussion regarding Legal Research Tools

Associate Dean Jane O'Connell shared new legal research tools *Information item only* with the faculty.

3. Information Item: Provost Glover Joins Faculty Meeting to Announce Reappointment of Dean Rosenbury for Five-Year Term

Provost Glover and President Fuchs have reappointed Dean Rosenbury to serve an additional five-year term as Dean of UF Law. Provost Glover congratulated the college on the upward trajectory, noting, among other achievements, the advancements in the *U.S. News* rankings and the financial health of the college.

Information item only

4. Information Item: Faculty Hiring Update from the Appointments Committee (Danny Sokol and Michael Wolf, co-chairs)

Professor Sokol provided Faculty Hiring Update, encouraging participation in upcoming sessions.

Information item only

5. Proposal from Curriculum & Strategic Planning Committee (Jonathan Cohen, chair) and Associate Dean Charlene Luke

Professor Cohen and Associate Dean Luke presented first part of proposal from the Curriculum & Strategic Planning Committee.

Part 1 of proposal passed unanimously.

Discussion ensued regarding the first part of the proposal.

Professor Cohen and Associate Dean Luke presented second part of proposal from the Curriculum & Strategic Planning Committee.

Part 2 of proposal passed Unanimously.

Discussion ensued regarding the second part of the proposal.

Meeting adjourned at 1:02 pm.