

Levin College of LawOffice of the Dean

Laura Ann Rosenbury
Dean and Levin, Mabie & Levin Professor

Spessard L. Holland Law Center PO Box 117620 Gainesville, FL 32611-7620 352-273-0600 www.law.ufl.edu

September 16, 2022

MEMORANDUM

TO: Full-Time Faculty, Levin College of Law

FROM: Laura A. Rosenbury, Dean

RE: Faculty Meeting Agenda, Friday, September 23, 2022

I have scheduled a faculty meeting for Friday, September 23, 2022. The meeting will take place in the Faculty Lounge on the third floor of Holland Hall. The meeting will begin at 2:30 p.m. and end no later than 4:00 p.m.

The agenda is as follows:

- 1. Approve Faculty Meeting Minutes for August 26, 2022, attached
- 2. Information Item: Update about Future Appointments Vote Counting Procedures
- 3. Information Item: Updates about the 1L Class
- 4. Information Item: Update from the Office of Career and Professional Development
- 5. Information Item: Update about the Law Review Submission Process (Associate Dean Peter Molk)
- 6. Information Item: Update from the Diversity and Community Relations Committee (Dennis Calfee, chair, and Assistant Dean M Smith)

If you are unable to attend, please contact Kay Epstein, who will discuss available options. Otherwise, I look forward to seeing you.

UF Levin College of Law Faculty Meeting Minutes

August 26, 2022, 2:30 p.m.

PRESENT:

Mary Adkins, Rachel Arnow-Richman, Stephanie Bornstein, Yariv Brauner, Annie Brett, Neil Buchanan, Karen Burke, Juan Caballero, Dennis Calfee, Judy Clausen, Lisa DeSanctis, Teresa Drake, Donna Erez-Navot, Barbara Evans, Ben Fernandez, Andrew Hammond, Kristen Hardy, David Hasen, Berta Esperanza Hernandez-Truyol, Jiaying Jiang, E. Lea Johnston, Elizabeth Lear, Sabrina Lopez, Lynn LoPucki, Charlene Luke, Tracey Maclin, Pedro Malavet, Jonathan Marshfield, Merritt McAlister, Grayson McCouch, Timothy McLendon, Silvia Menendez, Jon Mills, Peter Molk, Kenneth Nunn, Jane O'Connell, Laura Rosenbury, Katheryn Russell-Brown, Paige Snelgro, Joan Stearns Johnsen, Stacey Steinberg, Lee-ford Tritt, Derek Wheeler, Michael Wolf, Sarah Wolking, Danaya Wright, Jennifer Zedalis, Wentong Zheng

NOT PRESENT:

Charles Collier, Mark Fenster, William Hamilton, Christopher Hampson, Mindy Herzfeld, Lyrissa Lidsky, Lars Noah, Robert Rhee, Amy Stein, John Stinneford, Margaret Temple-Smith, Steven Willis,

Meeting called to order at 2:33 p.m.

1. Approve Faculty Meeting Minutes for April 22, 2022

Faculty considered faculty meeting minutes from April 22, 2022.

Minutes approved, attached

2. Approve Summer 2022 Graduate

Faculty considered summer 2022 graduate.

Summer 2022 graduate approved, attached

3. Welcome New and Visiting Faculty

Dean Laura Rosenbury welcomed new faculty.

4. Information Item: Updates on Entering JD and LLM Classes

Dean Laura Rosenbury provided updates on entering JD and LLM classes.

Information item only, attached

5. Information Item: Other College Updates

Dean Laura Rosenbury provided other college updates.

Information item only

6. Select Primary and Alternate Representatives to the AALS House of Representatives. The primary representative should plan to attend the Meeting of the House to be held on Saturday,

January 7, 2023, from 10:30 a.m. to 11:45 a.m. in San Diego, CA or arrange for the alternate representative to attend.

Dean Laura Rosenbury called for volunteers for primary and alternate representatives to the AALS House of Representatives.

Sarah Wolking is primary representative, and Merritt McAlister is alternate

7. Approve Revisions to Committee Assignments

Faculty considered revisions to committee assignments.

 $Committee\ assignments\ approved,$

attached

8. Information Item: Review Committee Charges

Faculty considered committee charges.

Information item only

9. Approve Hiring Policy from Appointments Committee (Michael Wolf, chair)

Faculty considered hiring policy from appointments committee

Hiring policy from appointments committee approved, attached

10. Informal Roundtable Discussions of Topics of Interest

Faculty participated in informal roundtable discussions.

Informal discussion only

Meeting adjourned at 3:52 p.m.