Levin College of Law

Oct. 18, 2012 – Why the Campaign for Same Sex Marriage Gets Marriage Wrong

UF Levin College of Law, HOL 180


Harvard Law Professor Janet Halley will deliver this year’s Weyrauch Lecture, “Traveling Marriage: Why the Campaign for Same Sex Marriage Gets Marriage Wrong.”

Halley is the Royall Professor of Law at Harvard Law School.  She teaches courses in family law, comparative family law and sexuality, and legal theory.  Before teaching at Harvard, she was a professor of law at Stanford Law School (1991-2000) and assistant professor of English at Hamilton College (1980-85). She has a Ph.D. in English from UCLA (1980) and a J.D. from Yale Law School (1988).

Her books include After Sex? On Writing Since Queer Theory, co-edited with Andrew Parker (Duke University Press 2011); Split Decisions: How and Why to Take a Break from Feminism (Princeton University Press 2006); Left Legalism/Left Critique, co-edited with Wendy Brown (Duke University Press, 2002); Don’t: A Reader’s Guide to the Military’s Anti-Gay Policy (Duke Univ. Press, 1999); and Seeking the Woman in Late Medieval and Renaissance Literature: Essays in Feminist Contextual Criticism, co-edited with Sheila Fisher (University of Tennessee Press, 1989). Her current projects include a handbook, What’s Not to Like about Sexual Harassment Law; a paper comparing family law systems entitled “Travelling Marriage;” and a critique of the rules about sexual violence in war established by the ad hoc courts convened to adjudicate war crimes in Rwanda and the former Yugoslavia.

The Weyrauch Distinguished Lecture in Family Law will be held on Thursday, October 18, at noon in the Chesterfield Smith Ceremonial Classroom (HOL 180).  Hosted by the Center for Children and Families, this lecture was established in honor of Professor Walter O. Weyrauch, internationally known for his work in foreign and family law.  Professor Weyrauch joined the UF Law faculty in 1957 as associate professor. He became professor in 1960, was Clarence J. TeSelle Professor 1989-94, and became Stephen C. O’Connell Chair in 1994 and distinguished professor in 1998. A reception will follow the lecture.

Tagged as:

Published: October 18th, 2012

Category: Past Events

Comments are closed.