Spring 2009 NOTA BENE

Legal skills professors receive faculty enhancement awards

Legal skills professors Leanne Pflaum and Anne Rutledge received Faculty Enhancement Opportunity (FEO) awards. Pflaum received the award for the summer and fall 2009 term, during which time she will prepare the second edition of “Legal Writing by Design” (2001), along with a teacher’s manual and a guide to be used by judges in training their clerks to write orders, judgments, and opinions. Rutledge received the award for the summer and fall 2009 terms, during which time she will write a textbook to be used by the legal drafting faculty in the legal drafting course.

Mazur appointed senior editor for peer-reviewed journal

Diane H. Mazur, a professor of law, has been appointed as one of seven senior editors of the Journal of National Security Law and Policy, a peer-reviewed journal “devoted exclusively to national security law and policy.” The journal includes interdisciplinary articles touching on matters of law, the military, intelligence, law-enforcement, public health and civil liberties. Mazur, a former captain in the United States Air Force, includes in her areas of expertise civil-military relations, constitutional law, evidence, and professional responsibility.

Mills named to Judicial Nominating Commission for federal posts

Jon Mills, University of Florida College of Law dean emeritus, professor of law and director of the Center for Governmental Responsibility has been tapped to serve on the Florida Judicial Nominating Commission. Nominees recommended by the JNC for federal judges, U.S. attorneys and marshals will be among the first considered by the newly-installed Obama Administration. Mills, a former Florida Speaker of the House, has accepted an appointment by senators Bill Nelson and Mel Martinez to serve a two-year term on the Florida Judicial Nominating Commission.

Rowe receives Florida Jack Wessel Research Award

Elizabeth A. Rowe, an associate professor of law, has been named one of 12 recipients of a University of Florida Jack Wessel Research Award. These awards, which are part of what is expected to be a one-time program funded by a one-time testamentary gift, are given to a faculty member in the first three to four years of his or her career. To be eligible, faculty members must have achieved distinction in scholarship. Rowe will receive $5,000 in non-salary research support funds.

Seigel tapped for research foundation professorship

Mike Seigel, a professor of law, has been selected to receive a University of Florida Research Foundation Professorship Award for 2009-11. The research foundation professorships are intended to recognize faculty who have established a distinguished record of research and scholarship during the last five years and who are expected to lead to continuing distinction in their field. UF Law currently has two other faculty members who hold this professorship: Danaya Wright, with a 2007-09 term; and Mark Fenster, with a 2008-10 term.

Willis appointed to judicial nominating commission

Steven J. Willis, a professor of law, has been appointed to the Eighth Circuit Judicial Nominating Commission by Florida Governor Charlie Crist. Willis’ four-year commission began last October and will end July 1, 2012. As a member of the commission, Willis will participate in reviewing applications, interviewing and recommending judicial candidates for appointment in the Eighth District to the governor.

UF president promotes law faculty

The University of Florida Levin College of Law is proud to announce University of Florida President Bernie Machen’s promotions of UF Law faculty members Yariv Brauner, Tracy Rambo, Mary Adkins, Bob Dekle, and Meshon Rawls. Brauner will be promoted to the rank of full professor effective Aug. 16, 2009. A decision on tenure is not final until the next meeting of the University of Florida Board of Trustees in June, but it is expected Brauner will also be granted tenure. Rambo will be promoted to the rank of master lecturer, and Adkins, Dekle and Rawls will be promoted to the rank of senior lecturer.